New Mexico CPA Exam Requirements
|150 Semester Hours Required to Sit for the Exam?||No|
|Minimum Degree Required:||Baccalaureate|
Additional Educational Requirements
- 30 semester hours in accounting, 3 of which may be in business law
Note:Need 150 for licensure but do not need 150 to sit for exam.
|U.S. Citizenship Required:||No|
|Applicant must be a resident, employee, OR have office in the state?||No|
To sit for the CPA exam as a first-time four-part candidate in New Mexico, follow these steps: Before applying for the exam, evaluate your current credentials. You must be at least 18 years of age and you will need:
1. A Bachelor's degree, or higher, from a Board-approved college or university,
2. At least 30 hours in Accounting, 3 of which may be in business law. Finance courses are not acceptable in lieu of accounting courses.
If you meet the educational requirements, submit your application to the CPA Examination Services New Mexico Coordinator in Nashville, Tennessee. The application fee will be $160 and the exam fees will be $773.80 for a total of $933.80. Allow up to two weeks after receipt of application, fees and transcripts for processing. You are able to apply for one or more sections of the exam at a time; however, you are advised to only apply for a section of the examination if you are ready to take it within the next six months. Your name on the application should exactly match your name on your primary form of identification, which is usually your driver's license. At this time you should also begin planning your study approach by making inquiries into CPA reviews available in your area. The Becker CPA Review offers classes live, online or self-study to accommodate the needs of all candidates.
Contact any educational institutions attended and request that transcripts be forwarded to CPA Examination Services for their evaluation. If you do not expect any problems in processing your application it is best to make plans to start your review at this time. The Becker CPA Review will significantly increase your chances of passing the exam.
After receiving the required information, CPA Examination Services will issue your Authorization to Test (ATT) to the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA). You will receive a Notice to Schedule (NTS) which is good for six months; however, since every third month is non-testing, the NTS covers four testing months.
Your NTS allows you to start scheduling your exams. You can sit for the exam parts in any sequence so you can plan your reviews to coincide with your exam scheduling. The most efficient approach is to sit for two parts in each exam window; however, exam fees paid for parts not taken are not refundable. Exam times are scheduled with Prometric and can be set up online at www.prometric.com/cpa. You can take the exam at a site in Albuquerque, Las Cruces, Santa Fe, or any other Prometric location that is convenient to you.
Exam Process Links
New Mexico CPA Exam Requirements exam fees
|Initial Application Fee:||$160|
Special Fees: Re-exam registration fee $85 regardless of the number of parts requested.
New Mexico CPA Exam Requirements state board contacts
New Mexico Public Accountancy Board
5200 Oakland NE
Albuquerque, NM 87113