PMP® Certification Requirements

Earning PMI®’s globally recognized Project Management Professional (PMP®) credential demonstrates professional commitment, technical expertise, educational background, and a specified level of knowledge and competency in leading and directing project teams.

According to the PMI Project Management Salary Survey–Seventh Edition, this recognition can have long-term career value by positively impacting project manager salaries and increasing marketability to employers .

Who should get a PMP Certification?

Experienced project managers with practical proficiency in risk management and team leadership who are looking to solidify skills and maximize their earning potential, should apply for the PMP Exam.

Education Requirements for the PMP Certification

  • A four-year degree (bachelor’s or the global equivalent) and at least three years of project management experience, with 4,500 hours leading and directing projects and 35 hours of project management education.


  • A secondary diploma (high school or the global equivalent) with at least five years of project management experience, with 7,500 hours leading and directing projects and 35 hours of project management education.


If you do not yet qualify for the PMP Exam, the Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)® certification is a valuable entry-level certification for project managers, designed to take them to the next level.

Learn more about PMP certification


Obtaining and Maintaining Your PMP® Certification

Applying for the PMP Exam

Personal growth and increased compensation are the primary reasons project management professionals seek PMI®’s PMP certification.

  • For additional information on the PMP application requirements, consult the PMP Handbook.
  • Prepare for success on the PMP exam with Becker’s PMP Exam Review.Upcoming Live PMP Exam Review workshops and Online PMP Exam Review courses.
  • Register and log in to PMI’s online system and complete the PMP exam application.

Maintaining PMP Certification

PMP credential holders need to earn 60 PDUs per three-year cycle to maintain their certification. The PMI Handbooks and Guides provide the key information about PMI’s Continuing Certification Requirements including:

  • What are PDUs
  • How to earn and claim PDUs
  • Step-by-step instructions on renewing your PMP certification
PMI Talent Triangle

Learn more about the new PMI® Talent Triangle and PDU requirements and Skill Areas:  Technical Project Management, Leadership, and Strategic & Business Management.

Learn more
Contact US
Combining the Power of Project Management and Lean Six Sigma Certifications

Leaders with demonstrated competence in both project management and lean six sigma help their organization realize its full potential to both deliver results and to change from within. Download the white paper and explore the powerful combination of PMP and LSS for an individual’s business skill-set!

Download whitepaper

“Excellent training and a must for exam takers!”


Samuel A.

Chicago PMI Chapter.

PMP Exam Review Class

See all testimonials