Minnesota CPA requirements
This page serves as a resource for your state's CPA licensure requirements and is current as of December 2019. Always consult with your state or jurisdiction's board of accountancy for the most current information.
bachelor’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited college or university
Minimum education requirement
150 semester (225 quarter) hours
24 semester hours of upper-level accounting courses that must cover:
- financial accounting and reporting for business organizations
- financial accounting and reporting for government and not-for-profit entities
- auditing and attestation services
- managerial or cost accounting
- fraud examination
- internal controls and risk assessment
- financial statement analysis
- accounting research and analysis
- tax research and analysis
- accounting information systems
- accounting ethics
24 semester hours of business-related subjects that must cover:
- business law
- business communications
- quantitative methods
- technical writing
- information systems or technology
- business ethics
- data analytics
- computer science
Minimum experience requirement
One year of experience consists of full- or part-time employment that extends over a period of no less than one year and no more than three years and includes no fewer than 2,000 hours of performance of services in accounting, attest, compilation, management advisory, financial advisory, tax, or consulting skills.
Acceptable experience includes employment in industry, government, academia or public practice.
You are required to be a resident, be regularly employed, or working in Minnesota for the purpose of obtaining qualifying experience, or will have been within 90 days preceding or following the date of the Uniform CPA Examination.
All candidates must also take and pass an ethics exam within two years preceding initial application for the certificate.
The exam the board currently accepts is the AICPA Professional Ethics Comprehensive Course "for licensure." AICPA offers more than one ethics course/exam. Be sure you select the one that says it is "for licensure."
There are both single-year and rolling three-year CPE tracks; both run July 1 to June 30.
Each reporting year you must earn a minimum of 20 hours.
In any given three-year reporting period, you must have a minimum of 120 hours, with eight of those hours being in regulatory (technical) or behavioral (nontechnical) ethics.
Must be of good moral character.