Nevada CPA requirements
Wondering how to become a CPA in Nevada? The first thing you’ll want to do on the road to becoming a CPA is to check the Nevada state requirements, as Nevada will ultimately license you. This page serves as a resource for Nevada’s CPA licensure requirements and is current as of February 2021. Always consult with your state or jurisdiction’s board of accountancy for the most current information.
How to become a CPA in Nevada
Getting a CPA in each state mandates different requirements for taking the CPA Exam and becoming a licensed CPA. In order to be eligible to become a Nevada CPA, the state requires candidates to meet certain education, experience and renewal requirements.
Nevada CPA education requirements
Before taking the CPA Exam in Nevada, you must meet a set of education requirements. First, you need a bachelor’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited college or university. You must also have 150 semester hours, or 225 quarter hours, in certain courses. These credits hours must include:
30 semester (45 quarter) hours in upper-level accounting courses covering:
- 9 hours in financial accounting
- 3 hours in cost accounting
- 3 hours in auditing
- 3 hours in federal income tax
- 12 hours in accounting electives
3 semester (4.5 quarter) hours in business law
24 semester (36 quarter) hours in business courses covering:
- Behavior of organizations
- Business finance
- Business law
- Data processing
- Ethics in business
- Oral communication
- Quantitative applications in business
- Legal and social environment
Nevada experience requirement
Nevada requires all CPA candidates to complete a designated amount of work experience in the public accounting sector. This work experience must include:
- Two years of full-time employment performing any combination of the approved tasks in a partnership, corporation, LLC or sole proprietorship engaged in the practice of public accounting; OR
- Four years of full-time employment performing any combination of the approved tasks in a governmental or other industry position that is substantially equivalent to a position in the practice of public accounting; OR
- Any combination of public accounting or governmental/industry.
All work must have been performed, under the direct supervision of a person engaged in active practice as a certified public accountant, who has knowledge about and a higher level of responsibility of the subject tasks and in accordance with all applicable professional standards.
In order to be a licensed CPA in Nevada, candidates must provide results of a rules of professional conduct (ethics) exam taken within the last three years. Becker has an extensive catalog of ethics courses with topics including the AICPA Code of Professional Conduct, rules governing professional conduct as well as the process, procedures and governing bodies responsible for enforcing the rules applicable to public accountants.
CPA license renewals and CPE
CPA licenses are renewed in Nevada every two years from January 1 to December 31.
All licensed CPAs in Nevada must complete 80 hours of continuing professional education (CPE) hours over a rolling two-year period. At least 4 of these hours must be in ethics every two-year period.
Other Nevada CPA requirements
All Nevada CPAs must submit moral character reference forms that are signed by individuals who will verify fiscal integrity. It should not be signed by a relative of the applicant.