New Jersey CPA license requirements
Wondering how to become a CPA in New Jersey? Your first step should always be to check the New Jersey State Board of Accountancy CPA requirements, because the New Jersey Board of Accountancy will ultimately license you. This page serves as a resource for your state's CPA licensure requirements and is current as of August 2021. Always consult with your state or jurisdiction's board of accountancy for the most current information.
New Jersey State Board of Accountancy CPA requirements - Exam
Getting a CPA in each state mandates different requirements for taking the CPA Exam. In order to be eligible for the CPA Exam, the state requires candidates to meet certain New Jersey Board of Accountancy CPA requirements, including the following.
Minimum education requirement
All CPA Exam candidates in New Jersey must have a bachelor’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited college or university. In order to meet the New Jersey CPA Exam requirements, candidates are required to complete 120 semester hours in various course subjects including:
- 24 semester hours in accounting
- 24 semester hours in business courses other than accounting
New Jersey State Board of Accountancy CPA requirements - License
In order to earn a certified public accountant license in New Jersey, applicants must meet the 150 semester hour requirement, as well as the requirements below.
Minimum experience requirement
- One year of intensive and diversified experience in the practice of public accounting or its equivalent under the supervision of a board licensee or an individual who is entitled to practice as a certified public accountant in this state.
- Experience must be obtained in full-time regular employment based on a minimum of 1,750 hours per year.
- Part-time experience will be considered equivalent if acquired within two consecutive years and in no less than the same amount of hours required for full-time experience.
- Experience must be considered intensive and diversified if experience is acquired in the areas of auditing or accounting.
Ethics exam requirement
Within 6 months of initial licensure in New Jersey, licensees must complete an orientation course, which at a minimum must include a four-credit course in New Jersey law and ethics approved by the board.
New Jersey CPA renewals
New Jersey CPAs must renew their licenses every three years. The cycle occurs December 31 - January 1 triennially.
New Jersey CPE requirements
Continuing professional education (CPE) must be completed in the three calendar years prior to the year during which a license is to be renewed. All CPAs must complete 120 hours of CPE credits per triennial reporting period, including:
- A minimum of 20 hours of CPE credits completed each year
- At least 24 credits in areas of accounting and auditing (for those who work in public accountancy)
- A minimum of four hours in New Jersey law and ethics
- At least 60 credits in technical subjects:
- Auditing, including but not limited to review, compilation and attest standards
- Business law
- Information technology
- Management advisory services
- Mathematics, statistics, etc.
- SEC practice
- Professional ethics
- Any of the subjects above may be in specialized areas, such as governmental, nonprofit organizations, film industry, real estate and farming.