Connecticut CPA requirements
Are you ready to earn your CPA license in Connecticut? Your first step should always be to check Connecticut's requirements for taking the CPA Exam and earning CPA licensure, because the Connecticut Board of Accountancy will ultimately license you. This page serves as a resource for CPA requirements in Connecticut and is current as of June 2021. Always consult with your state or jurisdiction's board of accountancy for the most current information.
CPA Exam requirements in Connecticut
Getting a CPA in each state mandates different requirements for taking the CPA Exam and earning licensure. In order to be eligible for the CPA Exam, Connecticut mandates that candidates meet the following education requirements.
Minimum education requirements in Connecticut
All CPA Exam candidates in Connecticut must have a bachelor's degree or higher from a regionally accredited college or university. First-time CPA Exam applicants must also have at least 46 semester hours in the study of accounting and related subjects, including but not limited to:
- 24 semester hours in accounting
- At least one business law course
- At least one economics course
- At least one finance course
CPA license requirements in Connecticut
In order to earn a certified public accountant license in Connecticut, applicants must meet the following requirements:
- Pass all four parts of the Uniform CPA Examination
- Work a minimum of 2 years (104 weeks) if applicant took the CPA Exam after January 1, 2000
- Work a minimum of 3 years (156 weeks) if applicant took the CPA Exam prior to January 1, 2000
- Successfully complete the AICPA Professional Ethics for CPAs self study Comprehensive Course for Certification with a score of 90 or higher
In addition to the above requirements, all CPA license applicants must have completed 150 semester hours of postsecondary education at an accredited college or university. These 150 semester hours must include:
- 36 semester hours in accounting
- 30 semester hours in economics or business courses other than accounting
- 60 semester hours in general education
Connecticut CPA license renewals
CPA licenses in Connecticut are renewed annually, expiring on December 31st of each year. Connecticut's CPE requirements can be found on the state's FAQ page.