Mississippi CPA requirements
bachelor’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited college or university
Minimum education requirements
150 semester hours including:
- 48 semester hours of upper-level accounting and business-related courses (accounting courses must be a minimum of 24 of the 48 hours and include at a minimum three semester hours in):
- financial accounting
- management/cost accounting
- government/not-for-profit accounting
Minimum experience requirements
Qualifying experience requirements shall be experience during the three years immediately preceding the date the application for the license is filed with the board.
Qualifying experience shall mean a minimum of one year of experience gained by full-time employment under the supervision and direction of a CPA.
An applicant shall show that he or she provided one or more kinds of services involving the use of accounting or auditing skills, including but not limited to:
- the issuance of reports on financial statements, or
- one or more kinds of management advisory, financial advisory, or consulting services,or
- the preparation of tax returns or the furnishing of advice on tax matters, or the equivalent, all of which are under the direction of a CPA licensee
An applicant for an original license must be a resident of the state of Mississippi or have an office for the regular transaction of business in this state. Residency determination may include:
- place of registration as a voter
- vehicle registration and tags
- filing of Mississippi state resident income tax returns
- qualifying for homestead exemption in Mississippi and payment of real estate taxes to this state
- graduation from a Mississippi university or college and successful completion of the CPA examination in Mississippi
The board reserves the right to require applicants for licensure to successfully complete a written examination, a board approved ethics course of comprehensive study, and/or an examination of the rules and regulations promulgated by the board.
annually; July 1 - June 30 reporting period
40 credit hours within one year; period running July 1 - June 30
Only 20 of the 40 hours may be carry-over hours.
Minimum of 4 CPE credit hours in board-approved ethics, professional conduct, public accountancy law and regulations courses triennially.
A new CPA licensee is exempt from CPE only during the compliance period in which he or she completes the examination and is exempt from the ethics, professional conduct, public accountancy law and regulations CPE requirement during the remainder of that triennial period.
Must be of good moral character.